National Weatherperson of the Year

Vote now for the 2018 National Weatherperson of the Year! Qualified nominees must include either practicing or former meteorologists or weatherpersons. Nominators should highlight how the nominee has leveraged his/her expertise and role to help save lives and protect property through accurate disaster safety messaging, targeted programs, or other public outreach initiatives.

The 2018 award will be announced in advance of National Weatherperson’s Day on February 5. Past winners include Jim Cantore of The Weather Channel, former National Hurricane Center Director Max Mayfield, Chief Meteorologist KABB Alex Garcia, and Hurricane Expert & Tropical Program Manager, The Weather Channel Dr. Richard Knabb. Poll will be closed January 5.